Starting a new plan of action

While having routine checkups after the breast cancer scare, I realized that I am continuing to gain weight, no matter what I do. Even the doctor was confused. Since it is winter, and under 0 here, I obviously am not getting outside to walk. I walk around stores and malls and the such when I get the chance, which isn’t often because my husband takes the car to work, but I do as much as I can. That being said, I haven’t changed activity behaviors, but I had changed eating, (giving up pop, etc) and still managed to climb. I was stumped. No plateau in sight. No matter what I tried to do, gained more weight.

Some things are obviously a factor. I had gained 18 pounds in six months, probably due to birth control, and climbing risperdal doseage. Since this time last year, I had gained 60. All the weight I had dropped during school I had gained back, PLUS some. The doctor told me to stay at 1500 calories or under, and get an app for my phone. So I downloaded My Diet Diary and within the first day realized I was much to blame for the weight gain.

I am an emotional eater. I attempt to eat my feelings, whatever they might be. Which is a start contrast to 15 years ago, when I would starve my feelings instead. I went from one extreme to the other. Neither one of them being particularily good for me.

I accidently set the app wrong (I told it to make me WEIGH 60 lbs instead of to LOSE it) and lost almost 10 pounds the first three days. I’ve since then I’ve fixed the app. I also came across something interesting at Wal-mart. A 5 day nutrisystem box that gives you breakfast, lunch, dinner, and dessert for 44 dollars. You have to find 2+ servings of vegetables for lunch and dinner, but other than that, its all there. I’ve been on it for 2 days now. Four days in my change. I’m still holding at almost 10 lost. I plan on documenting it so I know what I did in case (probably) I’ll ever have to lose weight again. Last time I have no idea how I almost got to goal weight. Probably the activity of going to college and stress. But once it was over, I ballooned.

I think I’m going to attempt to make it all one page, to make it easy for myself and not bore the living hell out of anyone who happens to be reading. We’ll see how well that works.

Leave a Reply

