3-5-13 One year and one birthday since the diagnosis.

One year ago today was my cats 10 year birthday. She had been shaved a couple months prior because she was a MESS. We found a weird lump towards her back and took her to the vet. On her 10th birthday, we found out she more than likely had cancer. I was devastated.

We took her in for a biopsy. The biopsy went to hell in a handbasket when they knicked an artery. They had to do an emergency removal. Luckily, they found out that it was easier to remove than they originally thought. They took out the tumor, and sent it out for the diagnosis.

It came back even worse than originally thought. On a scale of 1-10, it was upwards of a seriousness of a 8-9. Fibrosarcoma. Very advanced. When they removed it, he was assuming it wouldn’t come back. I read the prognosis. It said most of the time, without radiation and chemo, it would come back over 70% of the time. Within three months, it was back.

Shes losing weight, but shes here. I don’t know how long she’ll be here, but she stayed to her birthday, like I asked.

I would also like to take this time to tell you how she got that tumor, and why this particular tumor is usually so deadly.

In the past, when a cat got a rabies shot, they were usually given in the scruff of the neck. When a tumor grows on a neck, the outcome is quite deadly. Luckily, my cat is feisty, and they had to put it down in her gut. Now ready for the surprise? About SIX YEARS after that rabies shot, my cat got a tumor in that spot. Depending on the brand of rabies vaccine, cats can get a tumor 2 weeks to 10 years after the shot. The brand my cat used had a six year possibility. My cat got a tumor and will ultimately die because I was trying to protect her. The reason they didn’t warn of that side effect is because it is a VERY small chance. And as my husband pointed out, we were looking out for her. We couldn’t have known that she would get cancer.

But it doesn’t make me wish I that I could take it all back, anyway.

Tinkerbell on her 11th birthday.
Tinkerbell on her 11th birthday.

Happy Birthday, Princess.

Leave a Reply

